Why people shop for a Housecall Pro alternative

These points come from Housecall Pro’s own pricing page.

If those don’t matter to you, Housecall Pro is still a solid choice. Its review management and consumer financing are on the Basic plan. See Housecall Pro pricing.

Quick comparison (official pages, checked Oct 28, 2026)

ToolStarts atHow it’s pricedUsersFree planTrial
Housecall Pro (for reference)$59/mo billed annually ($79/mo monthly)Per plan, with users included1 / 5 / 8 (Max: $35/mo per added user)No14 days, no card
GorillaDesk$49/mo for the first routePer routeUnlimitedNo14 days, no card
ServiceM8$0, then $29/moPer new jobs a month1 on Free; unlimited on paid plansYes: 1 user, 30 jobs a month14 days, no card
Jobber$29/mo billed annually ($49/mo with no commitment)Per plan + $29/mo per added user1 on Core, Connect, and Grow; 5 on PlusNo14 days, no card
Connecteam$0 for up to 10 users, then $29/mo billed yearlyFlat for the first 30 users, then per added userUp to 30 on the base priceYes: up to 10 users14 days, no card

Feature checks that usually decide it

NeedHousecall ProGorillaDeskServiceM8Jobber
QuickBooks Online syncEssentials and upPro and upEvery plan (Xero too)Connect and up (Xero also listed)
ZapierMaxPro and upEvery planListed as an integration; plan not stated
Open APIMaxPro and upStarter and upListed; plan not stated
Online bookingEvery planPro and upEvery planEvery plan
Recurring service plans or jobsMaxStripe and Square subscriptions on Pro and upEvery planNot stated as a plan line
Route planningRoutes on Essentials; optimization on MaxBasic (25 stops) and upAuto Routing add-on, listed for all plansRouting listed; plan not stated

“Plan not stated” or “Not stated” means the vendor’s pricing page doesn’t list it. It doesn’t mean the tool can’t do it.

GorillaDesk: unlimited users, priced per route

PlanFirst route3 routes5 routes
Basic$49/mo$149/mo$209/mo
Pro$99/mo$199/mo$299/mo
Growth$149/mo$299/mo$399/mo

ServiceM8: pay for jobs, not seats

PlanPriceNew jobs a monthUsers
Free$0301
Starter$29/mo50Unlimited
Growing$79/mo150Unlimited
Premium$149/mo500Unlimited
Premium Plus$349/mo1,500+ (extra jobs 20¢ each)Unlimited

Jobber: the lowest entry price for one person

Plan (1 user)No commitment1-year commitmentBilled annually
Core$49/mo$39/mo$29/mo
Connect$139/mo$119/mo$99/mo
Grow$199/mo$169/mo$149/mo
Plus (5 users)$499/mo$439/mo$399/mo

Connecteam: crew app, not job software

Operations planBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Small Business Plan (up to 10 users)$0$0
Basic (first 30 users)$29/mo$35/mo
Advanced (first 30 users)$49/mo$59/mo
Expert (first 30 users)$99/mo$119/mo

FAQ

Is there a free Housecall Pro alternative? ServiceM8 Free covers 1 user and 30 new jobs a month. Connecteam is free for up to 10 users, but it doesn’t do quotes or invoices.

Which alternative is cheapest for 8+ people? GorillaDesk and ServiceM8 don’t charge per user. With GorillaDesk you pay per route; with ServiceM8 you pay by new jobs a month.

Which alternative has Zapier on a low-priced plan? ServiceM8 lists Zapier on every plan. GorillaDesk lists it on Pro ($99/mo for the first route).

Is Jobber better than Housecall Pro? It depends on team size and features. See Jobber vs Housecall Pro.

What if I’m leaving Jobber instead? See Jobber alternatives.

More field service guides

Sources